What have you…

The Part-Time Writer

…got to be depressed about?

That was what someone very well-intentioned asked me the other day. Someone who meant well but has never suffered long-term clinical depression.

If you look at my life, they’re right; I have nothing to be depressed about. I have Lovely Boyfriend, as much time with my children as I can handle, benefits ensuring I have a roof over my head and food on the table…and yet I’m depressed.

I don’t think it helps when stories in the news/on the internet spout the usual “I was in the middle of a nasty divorce, I’d lost my job and my dog had just died; is it any wonder I was depressed” stories. Sure, some people get depressed after negative events in their life, but that’s not all depression is.

Long-term recurrent depression doesn’t wait for a hiccup in your benefits or the death of a family member…

View original post 47 more words

Leave a Reply

